Resource Center Home

ACA Resources

Role Management

Estimated reading time: 6 min

Global Settings > Role Management

Role management allows administrative and user roles to be assigned to individual system users. The
purpose of these roles is to assign as much or as little responsibility to each user as needed. The system
has 3 accounts created by default.

  1. Account Manager: This role has all editing and reporting capability offered
  2. Administrator: Like the Account Manager, this role also has all editing and reporting
    capability
  3. Report Clerk: This role may only create, view and print report
Note the “Add New Role”, “View”, and “Copy” buttons. These will come in handy when
assigning new roles.
Administrator role privileges cannot be copied.

Viewing Roles

You may view these roles by clicking the “View” button next to each role. Viewing the role opens up a
window showing you exactly which privileges are assigned to the chosen user. For example, viewing the
Account Manager Role shows editing capability for all pages as well as the ability to create, view and
print reports.

The Administrator, Account Manager and Report Clerk roles are default system roles.
Therefore, these roles cannot be edited or deleted.

Creating a New Role

On the Role Management page, click “Add New Role” at the top of the page. When the Role Details
window opens, enter the required information.
When assigning roles to users:

  • Remember that roles are assigned to users, so only create roles with a specific purpose in mind
    and assign multiple roles to a single user, if needed
  • A role with more permissions will overrule a role with fewer permissions
  • You will not be able to delete a role that is currently assigned to another user

In order to complete the Role Details information page, these fields are required:

  • Name: This is the name of your new role
  • Role Description: Enter a brief description of this new role
  • Pages: You may choose as many pages as needed for each new role.
    • View Access: The role may only view what is available in the system without being able
      to create, modify, or delete information
    • Edit Access: The role may view, create, modify, and delete system information
  • Reports: You may choose as many reports as needed for each new role

Once the appropriate permissions are assigned, click the “Create” button to create the role. When the
role is created, you will see your new role under Role Management.

Copying Roles

You may want to copy certain features of an existing role for another user. In this case, clicking the
“Copy” button will display the Role Detail window pre-populated with the chosen role details. You can
then assign these roles to a new user.

  • Once you click “Copy” next to the role you wish to copy, you will be prompted to enter a Role
    Name, seen below.
  • Enter a new name and click the “Copy” button

The Role Details window will open and you can enter a new description as well as edit any permissions,
if needed.
Once you are finished, click “Update.”

Your new Roles page will show your updated roles.

If you attempt to access something outside of your assigned role, a dialog box will display
stating that you do not have permission to complete that activity.

Deleting Roles

When you would like to delete a role from Role Management, you must make sure that the role is not
assigned to a user. The system will not allow you to delete a role if it is still assigned. If this occurs, a
dialog box will open and display the following:

If the role is not assigned to a user, a dialog box will display to confirm deletion. If you wish to continue
with the delete, click the “Continue” button. Once the delete is complete, the role is gone from the
Role Name list.

Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 16